Field Trip Ideas

Home Testing  Contact me Getting Started My blog Resources



 Click here for a listing of live animal cams  or here for a listing of virtual field trips & factory tours!

 

This could never be a comprehensive listing of Field Trip Ideas for Homeschoolers, but at least it’s a start. Add to it as you come across additional ideas. I have included websites where available, otherwise a phone number is provided to call for complete info on hours, rates, etc. If you are part of a homeschooling group, keep in mind there are often special rates for groups, so be sure to ask before you go.

 

Additional Resources to Consult for Classes, Activities and Events:

The Mn Explorer   www.exploreminnesota.com

Mn Parent Magazine (free at most libraries and grocery stores)

Family Times Magazine (also free at most libraries and grocery stores)

Minnesota Monthly Magazine

Local Chambers of Commerce and Visitor Centers

Community Education Programs (your community or a neighboring community)

Parks and Rec Programs (yours and nearby communities)

Library Programs (Explore other libraries in your county or a neighboring county)

County Historical Societies (classes on local history or beginning genealogy)

County Parks Programs & Nature Centers (snowshoing, crosscountry skiing, kayaking and canoeing with equipment rental on site, maple syruping demos, birding, bug walks, dogsledding rides etc  are all offered through various County Parks)

 

Sampling of Parks, Nature Centers and  Outdoor Activity Opportunities:

State Parks (Metro & Greater MN)  www.dnr.state.mn.hs

--Junior Naturalist Programs, interpretive centers, self-guided tours, classes on rock hounding, mushroom hunting, birding, etc.

 

Mn Landscape Arboretum  www.arboretum.umn.edu  952-443-1400

Sculpture Gardens   www.walkerart.org

Raptor Center  www.recsports.umn.edu/youth   612-624-2756

Wargo Nature Center (Hugo)  651-429-8007

Springbrook Nature Center (Blaine) www.springbrooknaturecenter.org

Tamarack Nature Center (Maplewood)  www.co.ramsey.mn.us/parks/tamarack/index.htm

Dodge Nature Center (W. St Paul) www.dodgenaturecenter.org

Maplewood Nature Center  www.ci.maplewood.mn.us

Westwood Hills Nature Center  www.stlouispark.org

Harriet Alexander Nature Center www.ci.roseville.mn.us/parks/facilities/HANC

Elm Creek Park Reserve (Dayton) www.threeriversparkdistrict.org/parks/park.cfm

Lowry Nature Center (Victoria)  763-559-6700

Northern Mississippi Regional Parks   763-559-6700

 

Demonstrations, Exhibitions & Attractions:

Minnesota Zoo www.mnzoo.org   www.imax.com/minnesota

Como Zoo www.stpaul.gov/depts/parks/comopark

Como Zoo Conservatory  www.comozooconservatory.org

State Capital Tours  651-296-2881

Under Water Adventures at MOA

Historical Sites (statewide) www.mnhs.org

Murphy’s Landing (Shakopee) www.murphyslanding.org

Edina Art Center (Edina) www.edinaartcenter.com

Bloomington Art Center (Bloomington) www.bloomingtonartcenter.com

The Works  www.theworks.org  952-848-4848

Mad Science www.madscience.mn.org

Art Start  www.artstart.org

Macphail Center for the Arts  www.macphail.org

Red Balloon Bookshop www.redballoonbookshop.com

Northern Clay Center  www.northernclaycenter.org

The Loft  www.loft.org

Minnesota Center for Book Arts   www.mnbookarts.org

 

Seasonal Ideas:

Hot Air Balloon Rides (Stillwater)

Ice Boat Races (Phalen)

Winter Carnival www.winter-carnival.com

Taste of Minnesota

Renaissance Festival (Shakopee) www.renaissancefest.com

 

Museums:

Science Museum (St Paul) www.smm.org  651-221-9444

Children’s Museum (St Paul)  www.mcm.org  651-225-6000

Walker Art Center (Minneapolis) www.walkerart.org

Bell Museum of Natural History  www.bellmuseum.org  612-624-7083

Minneapolis Institute of Art www.artsmia.org

American Swedish Institute www.americanswedishinst.org

Bakken Museum  www.thebakken.org  612-926-3878

Museum of Russian Art www.tmora.org

Museum of Questionable Medical Devices  www.mtn.org/quack

Mill City Museum  www.millcitymuseum.org 612-341-7555

Hennepin History Museum www.hhmuseum.org  612-870-1329

Minnesota History Center 651-296-6126  www.mnhs.org

Schubert Club Museum of Musical Instruments  www.schubert.org/museum.html

Pavek Museum of Broadcasting  www.pavekmuseum.org 952-926-8198

Mn Museum of American Art  www.mmaa.org

 

Plays and Performances:

Orpheum  www.state-orpheum.com

Ordway  www.ordway.org

Guthrie  www.guthrietheater.org

Heart of the Beast Puppet Theatre  www.hobt.org

Children’s Theatre Company  www.childrenstheatre.org

James Sewell Ballet  www.jsballet.org

Minnesota Dance Theatre  www.mndance.org/index.php
Minnesota Opera  www.mnopera.org

Minnesota Orchestra  www.minnesotaorchestra.org

St Paul Chamber Orchestra  www.theSPCO.org

Great American History Theatre  www.historytheatre.com

Fitzgerald Theatre  www.fitzgeraldtheater.publicradio.org

Old Log Theater  www.oldlog.com

StageCoach Theatre Arts  www.stage-school.com

Stages Theatre Company www.stagestheatre.org

O’Shaughnessy Auditorium  www.stkate.edu/oshaughnessy

Illusion Theater  www.illusiontheater.org

Northrup Auditorium  www.northrup.umn.edu

Zenon Dance Company  www.zenondance.org

Landmark Center  www.landmarkcenter.org

Minnesota Symphonies  www.mnsinfonia.org

Minnesota Youth Symphonies  www.mnyouthsymphonies.org

Stepping Stone Theatre  www.steppingstonetheatre.org

Youth Performance Theatre  www.youthperformanceco.com

 

Fun, Fun, Fun!!!

County Fairs (seasonal)

State Fair (seasonal)

Community Festivals & Events (seasonal)

Horseback Riding (trail rides, lessons, horse camps- check your phone book for stables)

Ride the Light Rail to MOA

Bunker Beach and Wave Pool (seasonal) www.bunkerbeach.com

Grand Rios indoor water park (Brooklyn Park)   www.grandrios.com

Cascade Bay outdoor water park (Eagan)  www.cascadebay.com --a Favorite of ours!

Gameworks      www.gameworks.com

Grand Slam (indoor rock climbing, lazer tag, bumper cars, batting cages, mini-golf) www.villagebiz.com/grandslammn  (Coon Rapids and Eagan)

Raceway to Fun (Newport) (go carts, bumper boats, driving range, mini-golf. Best go cart track I’ve ever been on!) 651-459-6578

Corn Mazes (seasonal)

Roller Skating and Inline Skating Rinks (check phone book for one near you)

Bloomington Water Park

Apple Orchards/ Pumpkin Patches (seasonal)

Rock Climbing (REI, Dicks, Galyans)

Snowboarding/ Snowtubing (seasonal)

The Depot (Minneapolis)     www.thedepotminneapolis.com    612-375-1700

Apple Valley Aquatics Center  952-953-2300

Wild Mountain     www.wildmountain.com

Tropics Indoor Water Park (Shoreview Comm Ctr) www.ci.shoreview.mn.us/tropics/tropics.html   651-490-4700

Green Acres (Lake Elmo)    www.greenacresrec.com

Ekobacken  www.ekobacken.com

Padelford Boat Company  www.riverride.com

Look Out Ridge Indoor Playground (Woodbury) www.ci.woodbury.mn.us/parks/cpplay.html 651-735-7645

Eagles Nest Indoor Playground (New Brighton) 651-63-2127

Spring Lake Amusement Park  763-786-4994

Thunder Alley  (Brooklyn Center) 763-566-7733

Lava Links (Roseville) www.lavalinks.net  651-628-9956

Lilliputt Minigolf and Bumper Boats (Coon Rapids) 763-755-1450

Buck Hill (Burnsville)  www.buckhill.com

Afton Alps (Afton)  www.aftonalps.com

City of St Louis Park Family Aquatic Park  952-924-2540

Maple Grove Community Center   763-494-6527       

Edina Aquatic Center 612-928-4582

Northeast Water Park  612-370-4937

Richfield Outdoor Pool and Adventure Play  612-861-9355

Battle Creek Water Works  651-501-6340

Scuba Center  www.scubacenter.com

Adventure Park (Ham Lake) 763-757-3000

 

Beyond the Metro:

Caves-- great activity for hot summer days as caves are always cool!

Crystal Cave (Spring Valley, WI)    www.cavern.com/crystalcave/

Mystery Cave (Forestville, MN)     www.dnr.state.mn.us/state_parks/forestville_mystery_cave/index

Niagara Cave (Harmony, MN)    www.niagaracave.com

Soudan Underground Mine (Soudan, MN)

 

Lark Toys (Kellogg, MN)   www.larktoys.com

toy store, book store, toy museum, hand carved indoor carousel, and awesome mini-golf course.

Lutsen  www.lutsen.com    Great alpine slide! You ride the ski lift to the top.Great views.

Iron World     www.ironworld.com    iron mining museum and more.

Silver Bay Marina (Silver Bay, MN) Great boulder penninsula hike. Discover your inner billy-goat!